10,869 book reviews and counting...

Booker Prize 2020 Longlist Announced

The Booker Prize Longlist

The Booker Prize 2020 longlist was announced today and sees Hilary Mantel's The Mirror & The Light among the novels selected - putting her in line for a third Booker Prize.

This year’s longlist of 13 books was selected by a panel of five judges: Margaret Busby (chair), editor, literary critic and former publisher; Lee Child, author; Sameer Rahim, author and critic; Lemn Sissay, writer and broadcaster; and Emily Wilson, classicist and translator.

Margaret Busby, Chair of the 2020 judges, said: “Each of these books carries an impact that has earned it a place on the longlist, deserving of wide readership. Included are novels carried by the sweep of history with memorable characters brought to life and given visibility, novels that represent a moment of cultural change, or the pressures an individual faces in pre- and post-dystopian society... As judges we connected with these writers’ well-crafted prose, the mastery of detail, the arresting sentence, the credibility of the narrative arc, the ability to use to the full, the resources of storytelling. Unplanned, our final selection encompasses both seasoned favourites and debut talents ― a truly satisfying outcome.”

The list was chosen from 162 novels published in the UK or Ireland between 1 October 2019 and 30 September 2020.

The shortlist of 6 books will be announced on Tuesday 15 September. The 2020 winner will be announced in November. The winner of the 2020 Booker Prize receives £50,000 and can expect international recognition. The shortlisted authors each receive £2,500 and a specially bound edition of their book.

The full list follows below...

Hilary Mantel

4.47 out of 5

22 reviews

Preorder the long-awaited sequel to Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, the stunning conclusion to Hilary Mantel's Man Booker Prize-winning Wolf Hall trilogy.

Colum McCann

3.35 out of 5

8 reviews

Maaza Mengiste

3.45 out of 5

5 reviews

An utterly captivating novel about female strength. Set during Mussolini's 1935 invasion of Ethiopia, The Shadow King casts a light on the women soldiers written out of African history

Kiley Reid

4.26 out of 5

11 reviews

When Emira is apprehended at a supermarket for 'kidnapping' the white child she's actually babysitting, it sets off an explosive chain of events. Her employer Alix, a feminist blogger with a 'personal brand' and the best of intentions, resolves to make things right. But Emira herself is aimless, broke and wary of Alix's desire to help. When she meets someone from Alix's past, the two women find themselves on a crash course that will upend everything they think they know - about themselves, each other, and the messy dynamics of privilege.

Anne Tyler

4.32 out of 5

12 reviews

He measures out his days running errands for work - his TECH HERMIT sign cheerily displayed on the roof of his car - maintaining an impeccable cleaning regime and going for runs (7:15, every morning).

Sophie Ward

TBC

2 reviews

This impressive literary debut takes as its premise and inspiration ten of the best-known thought experiments in philosophy - the 'what ifs' of philosophical investigation - and uses them to talk about love in a wholly unique way.

C Pam Zhang

4.00 out of 5

3 reviews

Set to be a major 2020 debut fiction launch from the US publishers of My Absolute Darling, this remarkable novel comes with praise from Sebastian Barry to Emma Donoghue. Little, Brown and Virago Press's lead literary fiction launch of 2020.

Douglas Stuart

4.33 out of 5

3 reviews

A heart-wrenchingly moving first novel set in Glasgow during the Thatcher years, Shuggie Bain tells the story of a boy's doomed attempt to save his proud, alcoholic mother from her addiction.

Tsitsi Dangarembga

4.20 out of 5

5 reviews

Avni Doshi

TBC

1 review

A searing debut novel about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal - for fans of Jenny Offill's Weather, Deborah Levy's Hot Milk and Diana Evans' Ordinary People

Gabriel Krauze

TBC

0 reviews

'A literary rendering of the Top Boy generation... I cannot conjure another work which captures this culture in such depth - or with such brutal honesty - as only lived experience can tell ' Graeme Armstrong, author of The Young Team

Diane Cook

TBC

0 reviews

A passionate, tender and terrifying story of a mother's fight to protect her daughter

Douglas Stuart

4.33 out of 5

3 reviews

A heart-wrenchingly moving first novel set in Glasgow during the Thatcher years, Shuggie Bain tells the story of a boy's doomed attempt to save his proud, alcoholic mother from her addiction.

Brandon Taylor

TBC

1 review

Deftly zooming in and out of focus, Real Life is a deeply affecting story about the emotional cost of reckoning with desire, and overcoming pain.