6,815 book reviews and counting...

1939 Reviews

1939 by Frederick Taylor

1939: A People's History

Frederick Taylor

Score pending

1 review

Category: History, Non-fiction
Imprint: Picador
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication date: 25 Jun 2019
ISBN: 9781509858743

A vivid people's history of the twelve months leading up to the outbreak of war in 1939, perfect for fans of Antony Beevor, Max Hastings, Christopher Clark and Margaret Macmillan.

4 stars out of 5
Gerard DeGroot
22 Jun 2019

"a fascinating and well-written book about how two nations embraced the prospect of war"

Despite its unfortunate title, this is a fascinating and well-written book about how two nations embraced the prospect of war. By examining a turbulent year from the ground up, Taylor has inadvertently exposed crucial differences in national characteristics. The Germans, despite all their feverish enthusiasm for Hitler’s militaristic ambitions, were spiritually ill- prepared for war. The British, in contrast, had no martial enthusiasm, but fatalistically accepted war’s inevitability. Between Munich and the Polish crisis, they prepared themselves for their finest hour. 

Reviews