13,111 book reviews and counting...

A Burning Reviews

A Burning by Megha Majumdar

A Burning: The most electrifying debut of 2021

Megha Majumdar

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: Scribner UK
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publication date: 21 Jan 2021
ISBN: 9781471190261

For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise--to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies--and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.

4 stars out of 5
17 Jan 2021

"Already a hit in the US, this hard-hitting novel reveals a hidden side of South Asia"

A Burning won rave reviews in America last summer and follows a long tradition of Indian novels that probe social conscience with literary flair, among them A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry and The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga. Majumdar, who has set her novel in her native Kolkata, evokes degrees of economic deprivation with grim economy and avoids explicit judgment, although her characters are poignantly aware of their failings. Lovely feels the consequence of her thirst for fame. “This night, I am sleeping in shame, and I am waking in shame, and still shame is weaker than the other thing.” PT Sir moves into an apartment with air conditioning, but lives with a “ghost who weeps in his mind when he is alone”. In this powerful, painfully ironic novel Majumdar shows how we betray each other and in doing so betray ourselves.

Reviews

5 stars out of 5
Sukhdev Sandhu
13 Jan 2021

"Immaculately constructed, acidly observed and gripping from start to finish, A Burning is a brilliant debut."

In their different ways, all Majumdar’s characters are drawn to gadgets and appliances that can help them transcend their surroundings. Their shiny phones offer textures of another life, one that’s modern and urban, at once connected and individualistic, zingy and fast paced rather than traditional. Is this other realm just a fantasy? When Lovely visits a new mall on the site of a former sewing machine factory, she’s aroused by the air conditioning and the smell of leather bags. Before she can enter, a security guard blocks the path and demands an entrance fee he doesn’t solicit from affluent women shoppers. “Do I make the rules?” he protests when challenged.