14,765 book reviews and counting...

Books in the Media Update

This website is no longer being updated; theBookseller.com is the home of all books related-content and will continue to be updated with regular articles about books featured in the media. Thank you for using this website, and we hope you join us on theBookseller.com.

A Desolation Called Peace Reviews

A Desolation Called Peace by Arkady Martine

A Desolation Called Peace

Arkady Martine

Score pending

1 review

Imprint: Tor
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication date: 4 Mar 2021
ISBN: 9781529001624

As a terrifying alien threat sweeps across the galaxy, their first battle is how to communicate. This book follows Arkady Martine's incredible debut, A Memory Called Empire, and is perfect for fans of Ann Leckie, John Scalzi and Becky Chambers.

3 stars out of 5
Lisa Tuttle
12 Mar 2021

"This is first-class space opera, with added spycraft, diplomatic intrigue and scary aliens"

Arkady Martine’s debut, A Memory Called Empire, won the Hugo award for best novel last year; A Desolation Called Peace (Tor, £16.99) is the sequel – and obviously not the best place to start. I had no idea what the hugely significant events were that had taken place in the Teixcalaan Empire three months earlier, causing all the characters to be sad, or traumatised, or simply reflective, so it took quite a while for the story to take off. At the same time, new readers will be plunged, unprepared, into the strangeness of a space-faring empire somehow grown out of the ancient Aztec culture – a fascinating creation that soon had me hooked.

Reviews