14,765 book reviews and counting...

Books in the Media Update

This website is no longer being updated; theBookseller.com is the home of all books related-content and will continue to be updated with regular articles about books featured in the media. Thank you for using this website, and we hope you join us on theBookseller.com.

A Girl Called Joy Reviews

A Girl Called Joy by Jenny Valentine

A Girl Called Joy: Bring a little JOY into your life!

Jenny Valentine

Score pending

1 review

Category: Children's
Imprint: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publication date: 29 Apr 2021
ISBN: 9781471196492

For readers aged 9+ comes a sparkling new series about family, friends and finding the joy in life! From the mind of award-winning author Jenny Valentine, this is the perfect series for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Cath Howe and Lara Williamson!

4 stars out of 5
Nicolette Jones
16 May 2021

"a delight for its warmth and humour"

All her life ten-year-old Joy has travelled the world with her family. She has lived in Mexico and Zanzibar, seen the Grand Canyon and the northern lights, snorkelled in the Indian Ocean and been inside a volcano. Every day was surprising. Now the family have to return to Britain to look after her grandfather...

Reversing the familiar plot in which children with ordinary lives burst into an adventure, this book — the first of a series — is a delight for its warmth and humour, but principally because the writing is alive and stunning.

Reviews