14,765 book reviews and counting...

Books in the Media Update

This website is no longer being updated; theBookseller.com is the home of all books related-content and will continue to be updated with regular articles about books featured in the media. Thank you for using this website, and we hope you join us on theBookseller.com.

A Shadow on the Lens Reviews

A Shadow on the Lens by Sam Hurcom

A Shadow on the Lens

Sam Hurcom

Score pending

1 review

Imprint: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publication date: 5 Sep 2019
ISBN: 9781409189855

A stifling, atmospheric gothic crime novel with a unique protagonist and killer twist - for fans of The Woman in Black, The Silent Companions and Little Strangers.

3 stars out of 5
Laura Wilson
26 Sep 2019

"Uneven and marred by anachronisms, this is nevertheless a promising debut – gothic, claustrophobic and wonderfully dark"

A Shadow on the Lens by Sam Hurcom employs the folk-horror staple of the rational outsider who arrives in a superstitious backwater to solve a mystery. It’s 1904, and Thomas Bexley, an early forensic photographer, travels to a remote village in Wales to investigate the gruesome murder of a young girl. The place is grim, the inhabitants sullen, the authorities keen to blame a party of Travellers, and the frustrated Bexley soon falls into a fever, suffering appalling hallucinations. Uneven and marred by anachronisms, this is nevertheless a promising debut – gothic, claustrophobic and wonderfully dark.

Reviews