7,538 book reviews and counting...

Agatha Reviews

Agatha by Anne Cathrine Bomann, Caroline Waight

Agatha

Anne Cathrine Bomann, Caroline Waight

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: Sceptre
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Publication date: 10 Dec 2019
ISBN: 9781529361377

Set in 1940s Paris, this bittersweet debut novel has sold in twenty three territories, this is the perfect book for fans of A Man Called Ove, My Name is Lucy Barton and The Guest Cat

5 stars out of 5
1 Dec 2019

" a shrewd, skilful tale of loneliness, the search for meaning and a place in the world, and the problems of truly relating to another human being"

Although the book is slight – 147 pages – it is a shrewd, skilful tale of loneliness, the search for meaning and a place in the world, and the problems of truly relating to another human being. The ending is sorrowful and joyful.

Reviews

3 stars out of 5
Stephanie Cross
21 Nov 2019

"(a) diverting, rather sweet, physician-heal-thyself tale"

In the mould of A Man Called Ove, this diverting, rather sweet, physician-heal-thyself tale has been a huge international bestseller. Set in the suburbs of Paris in the late Forties, it’s narrated by an unnamed psychiatrist who, at nearly 72, is just five months and 800 sessions away from retirement.... As the facts of her life emerge — she’s the daughter of a blind watch repairman — so, too, do the book’s themes: the invisibility of age, the blinkers of habit . . . yes, the doctor’s own afflictions.

Bomann is a psychologist herself, and, although her at-a-sitting debut is on the slight side, she effectively makes her case for the importance of opening one’s eyes and heart.