14,765 book reviews and counting...

Books in the Media Update

This website is no longer being updated; theBookseller.com is the home of all books related-content and will continue to be updated with regular articles about books featured in the media. Thank you for using this website, and we hope you join us on theBookseller.com.

All Adults Here Reviews

All Adults Here  by Emma Straub

All Adults Here: A funny, uplifting and big-hearted novel about family - an instant New York Times bestseller

Emma Straub

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: Michael Joseph Ltd
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publication date: 16 Jul 2020
ISBN: 9780718181499
  • The BooksellerEditor's Choice
4 stars out of 5
Alice O'Keeffe
3 Apr 2020

"A warm, involving story about growing up in a family"

In a small town in upstate New York, Astrid Strick, a sixtysomething widow and mother to three grown-up children-Eliot, father to young twins and never comfortable in his own skin; newly pregnant single-mother-by-choice Porter; and Nicky, a pothead-has been keeping a secret about her love life. Now she's ready to tell the family and, in her newfound spirit of honesty, sees a way to right the wrongs of the past, or least come to terms with them. A warm, involving story about growing up in a family and, as Ann Patchett says, "how we try and fail at every age, and yet somehow survive."

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
Patricia Nicol
26 Jul 2020

"Straub’s book is one of those smartly observant, wryly witty, big-hearted literary-commercial American novels "

In an early scene of All Adults Here by Emma Straub, Cecelia, a teenager, is exiled from Manhattan to the small-town home of her grandmother Astrid. Cece has been bullied and her ineffectual parents’ presumption is that the no-nonsense widowed Astrid will provide a calm haven...

Straub’s book is one of those smartly observant, wryly witty, big-hearted literary-commercial American novels that celebrate the foibles of family life. Fans of Ann Patchett, Anne Tyler, Elizabeth Strout and Lily King should seek it out.