10,869 book reviews and counting...

All Adults Here Reviews

All Adults Here  by Emma Straub

All Adults Here: A funny, uplifting and big-hearted novel about family - an instant New York Times bestseller

Emma Straub

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: Michael Joseph Ltd
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publication date: 16 Jul 2020
ISBN: 9780718181499
  • The BooksellerEditor's Choice
4 stars out of 5
Alice O'Keeffe
3 Apr 2020

"A warm, involving story about growing up in a family"

In a small town in upstate New York, Astrid Strick, a sixtysomething widow and mother to three grown-up children-Eliot, father to young twins and never comfortable in his own skin; newly pregnant single-mother-by-choice Porter; and Nicky, a pothead-has been keeping a secret about her love life. Now she's ready to tell the family and, in her newfound spirit of honesty, sees a way to right the wrongs of the past, or least come to terms with them. A warm, involving story about growing up in a family and, as Ann Patchett says, "how we try and fail at every age, and yet somehow survive."

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
Patricia Nicol
26 Jul 2020

"Straub’s book is one of those smartly observant, wryly witty, big-hearted literary-commercial American novels "

In an early scene of All Adults Here by Emma Straub, Cecelia, a teenager, is exiled from Manhattan to the small-town home of her grandmother Astrid. Cece has been bullied and her ineffectual parents’ presumption is that the no-nonsense widowed Astrid will provide a calm haven...

Straub’s book is one of those smartly observant, wryly witty, big-hearted literary-commercial American novels that celebrate the foibles of family life. Fans of Ann Patchett, Anne Tyler, Elizabeth Strout and Lily King should seek it out.