7,392 book reviews and counting...

An Unremarkable Body Reviews

An Unremarkable Body by Elisa Lodato

An Unremarkable Body

Elisa Lodato

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publication date: 12 Dec 2017
ISBN: 9781474606332

Every mother is a woman with a past. An exquisite story about mothers, daughters and a life lived in the shadows for fans of Elizabeth Strout, Louise Doughty and Tessa Hadley.

1 Prize for An Unremarkable Body

Costa Book Awards
2018 Shortlist

Shortlisted: Best First Novel

The Costa Judges: ‘A stunning debut exploring grief and sadness with a great twist – brilliant.’

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
Katy Guest
20 Dec 2018

"A young woman mourns her mother in this subtle story of memory and loss, shortlisted for the Costa first novel award"

The occasionally omniscient narration sometimes jars, and the twist at the end feels unnecessary, as if the author were trying to squeeze a domestic thriller out of a subtle story of loss, what it means to inhabit a woman’s body, and how love and care can be expressed through touch. But on the whole this is extraordinarily sensuous storytelling that makes the reader’s heart ache in sympathy.

3 stars out of 5
Lucy Scholes
12 Dec 2017

"A debut novel that shows notable promise"

Although not without its flaws, An Unremarkable Body is a novel that shows notable promise. Occasional over-writing – the description of a cook who “simmered dinner into submission”; or the sight of a woman crying, “her body sought to service emotion with water” – and slightly stilted dialogue are reminders that this is indeed a first novel, but I’m already intrigued to see what Lodato writes next.