The latest book reviews in one place

Blood Orange Reviews

Blood Orange by Harriet Tyce

Blood Orange

Harriet Tyce

3.67 out of 5

7 reviews

Category: Thrillers, Fiction
Imprint: Wildfire
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Publication date: 21 Feb 2019
ISBN: 9781472252753

An electrifying debut thriller for fans of Apple Tree Yard and Anatomy of a Scandal.

3 stars out of 5
17 Mar 2019

"Tyce’s pacing is first-rate"

Tyce’s pacing is first-rate, and she excels at rendering her heroine’s oscillation between panic and control; but her debut feels too derivative, and too calculated a reworking and fusion of previous hits.

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
Marcel Berlins
1 Mar 2019

"...dark and immensely readable. An impressive debut"

Blood Orange by Harriet Tyce is a hectic, volatile mix of domestic noir and legal thriller with added sexual misbehaviour. Alison Wood is a promising criminal barrister who has been given her first murder case, defending a woman who admits to killing her violent husband... Lots and lots of things happen to everyone. It’s not easy to find a character worthy of sympathy, but Blood Orange is dark and immensely readable. An impressive debut.

3 stars out of 5
28 Feb 2019

"the legal terminology comes off the page with authority and confidence"

The legal terminology comes off the page with authority and confidence – Tyce clearly knows what she is talking about... Unfortunately, Blood Orange doesn’t have all that much more to offer beyond this promising set-up... While there are a few twists and turns along the way, they all arrive within the last quarter of the book, and some of the more interesting questions they raise are quickly brushed under the carpet to make way for an easily digestible ending. 

4 stars out of 5
27 Feb 2019

"Tyce brings her fictional world to dark, unsettling life"

A former lawyer herself, Tyce brings her fictional world to dark, unsettling life. An arguably off-key bit of plotting towards the end threw me slightly, but fans of Apple Tree Yard and The Girl on the Train will love the atmosphere of clenched ambiguity Tyce sustains so well.

4 stars out of 5
Alison Flood
24 Feb 2019

"a very impressive debut"

Tyce is excellent on the amorphous horrors of alcoholism and mornings after, on the slow chipping away of self-belief in an abusive relationship, and, as a former criminal barrister herself, on the details of the criminal justice system. Complex and menacing, this is a very impressive debut.

4 stars out of 5
23 Feb 2019

"glittering and fierce and resolutely unsentimental"

Tyce, a former barrister, captures well the romance and restless squalor of hard-drinking London lawyers, understands how effectively sex and alcohol work in fiction as emotional accelerants and is pleasingly nuanced about the transgressive thrill of self-destruction. Blood Orange is glittering and fierce and resolutely unsentimental, a glorious bonfire of a marriage thriller.

4 stars out of 5
9 Feb 2019

"Not for the faint-hearted"

Not for the faint-hearted, this disturbing tale expertly weaves together murder, sex and mystery for a plot with added bite.