10,869 book reviews and counting...

Burnt Sugar Reviews

Burnt Sugar by Avni Doshi

Burnt Sugar

Avni Doshi

Score pending

1 review

Imprint: Hamish Hamilton Ltd
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publication date: 30 Jul 2020
ISBN: 9780241441510

A searing debut novel about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal - for fans of Jenny Offill's Weather, Deborah Levy's Hot Milk and Diana Evans' Ordinary People

1 Prize for Burnt Sugar

Man Booker Prize
2020 Longlist

Margaret Busby, Chair of the 2020 judges, says: “Each of these books carries an impact that has earned it a place on the longlist, deserving of wide readership. Included are novels carried by the sweep of history with memorable characters brought to life and given visibility, novels that represent a moment of cultural change, or the pressures an individual faces in pre- and post-dystopian society... As judges we connected with these writers’ well-crafted prose, the mastery of detail, the arresting sentence, the credibility of the narrative arc, the ability to use to the full, the resources of storytelling. Unplanned, our final selection encompasses both seasoned favourites and debut talents ― a truly satisfying outcome.”

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
Stephanie Cross
30 Jul 2020

"Doshi’s visceral debut is a no-holds-barred excavation of how hate can both poison and sustain."

Doshi’s visceral debut is a no-holds-barred excavation of how hate can both poison and sustain. It bristles with sharp, chilly aphorisms, but although this first-time author’s gifts are evident, it’s not exactly fun to read.