9,055 book reviews and counting...

Correspondents Reviews

Correspondents by Tim Murphy

Correspondents

Tim Murphy

Score pending

1 review

Imprint: Picador
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication date: 23 Jan 2020
ISBN: 9781529020397

By turns gripping and deeply moving, travelling from New England to the Middle East, Correspondents is an epic family saga, for readers of The Kite Runner and The Sympathizer.

3 stars out of 5
24 Jan 2020

"...what Murphy understands best is the obsessive mindset of an unrepentant deadline-junkie"

Correspondents is a hefty, multi-generational saga that begins with the first arrival of Arab settlers in northern New England in the early 20th century and concludes in the opening years of the Obama administration. But at its heart is a journalist’s perspective on the lawless, lethal streets of the Iraqi capital in the months following the American invasion in 2003... The novel’s later, rather heavy-going episodes find Rita attached to a Washington thinktank dispensing foreign policy advice to the Obama administration. But what she – and indeed the novel – misses at this point is the adrenalin-fuelled intensity of reporting from a warzone. The final outcome of US intervention in the Middle East is yet to be written, but it’s clear that what Murphy understands best is the obsessive mindset of an unrepentant deadline-junkie

Reviews