14,424 book reviews and counting...

Edge of the Grave Reviews

Edge of the Grave by Robbie Morrison

Edge of the Grave

Robbie Morrison

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: Macmillan
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication date: 4 Mar 2021
ISBN: 9781529054019

Edge of the Grave is the first novel in a historical crime series set against the backdrop of 1930s Glasgow. For fans of William McIlvanney's Laidlaw, Denise Mina and Philip Kerr.

4 stars out of 5
Nick Rennison
21 Mar 2021

"Edge of the Grave builds to a wildly implausible finale, but it’s a dark and powerful story"

his first novel by the comics writer Morrison is set in 1932. Jimmy Dreghorn is a police inspector charged with keeping the peace in Glasgow’s toughest neighbourhoods. A veteran of the Great War, he is brought face to face with his past after a body is hauled out of the Clyde with its throat cut. The dead man had married into a wealthy shipbuilding dynasty and Dreghorn was once, years earlier, the widow’s bit of rough. Further killings follow as he struggles to find the murderer.

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
5 Mar 2021

" Robbie Morrison makes his debut as a novelist with a bang"

A hugely impressive debut, let us hope Morrison puts aside the comic writing for a while so lucky readers can return to Glasgow in the company of his wonderful creations.