14,765 book reviews and counting...

Books in the Media Update

This website is no longer being updated; theBookseller.com is the home of all books related-content and will continue to be updated with regular articles about books featured in the media. Thank you for using this website, and we hope you join us on theBookseller.com.

Emily Eternal Reviews

Emily Eternal by

Emily Eternal

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Publication date: 23 Apr 2019
ISBN: 9781473681958

The astonishing debut novel by M. G Wheaton - perfect for fans of Becky Chambers and James Smythe.

4 stars out of 5
James Lovegrove
26 Apr 2019

" a remarkably clever and engrossing first novel"

Emily is an Artificial Intelligence, although she prefers “Artificial Consciousness”. Created to be a kind of non-human psychotherapist, she is perceptible only to those wearing a special implant... This is a remarkably clever and engrossing first novel from former journalist Wheaton. It’s hard not to be won over by Emily’s benign narrative voice and thrilled by the race-against-time plot, even as the book explores weighty questions of self and soul.

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
25 Apr 2019

"Emily is a true heroine: warm, funny, brilliant and more human than a lot of humans."

Emily is a true heroine: warm, funny, brilliant and more human than a lot of humans.

You’ll be cheering for her to the end when you come to see that AI actually stands for Awesome Imagination.