5,276 book reviews and counting...

Emily Eternal Reviews

Emily Eternal by

Emily Eternal

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Publication date: 23 Apr 2019
ISBN: 9781473681958

The astonishing debut novel by M. G Wheaton - perfect for fans of Becky Chambers and James Smythe.

4 stars out of 5
James Lovegrove
26 Apr 2019

" a remarkably clever and engrossing first novel"

Emily is an Artificial Intelligence, although she prefers “Artificial Consciousness”. Created to be a kind of non-human psychotherapist, she is perceptible only to those wearing a special implant... This is a remarkably clever and engrossing first novel from former journalist Wheaton. It’s hard not to be won over by Emily’s benign narrative voice and thrilled by the race-against-time plot, even as the book explores weighty questions of self and soul.

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
25 Apr 2019

"Emily is a true heroine: warm, funny, brilliant and more human than a lot of humans."

Emily is a true heroine: warm, funny, brilliant and more human than a lot of humans.

You’ll be cheering for her to the end when you come to see that AI actually stands for Awesome Imagination.