9,147 book reviews and counting...

Escape Routes Reviews

Escape Routes by Naomi Ishiguro

Escape Routes

'A writer whose voice I hope to be following for many years to come' Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

Naomi Ishiguro

Score pending

1 review

Imprint: Tinder Press
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Publication date: 6 Feb 2020
ISBN: 9781472264855

A delightfully speculative, quirky and magical debut story collection, for fans of David Mitchell and Angela Carter

4 stars out of 5
Phil Baker
2 Feb 2020

"Winsomely written and engagingly quirky"

Challenged to draw outer-space-themed pictures representing Effervescent, Perspective, and finally The Unknown, a boy manages to come up with a picture you can walk into and vanish. Another boy learns the hard way that you have to trust in something more than magic and not place your faith in wizards. Elsewhere, a newlywed couple’s relationship is delicately examined after the wife buys a giant teddy bear at auction, instead of sensible furniture. The longest section, almost a novella in three segments, is a faux fairy tale featuring a rat-catcher and a dead king. Ishiguro inhabits a good range of distinct voices and there is more emotional subtlety in these deceptively simple stories than first meets the eye.

Reviews