11,729 book reviews and counting...

Execution Reviews

Execution by S. J. Parris

Execution (Giordano Bruno, Book 6)

S. J. Parris

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 9 Jul 2020
ISBN: 9780007481293

The No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling series, perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and The Mirror and the Light by Hilary Mantel The new book in S. J. Parris's bestselling, critically acclaimed series following Giordano Bruno, set at the time of Queen Elizabeth I

4 stars out of 5
Antonia Senior
15 Jul 2020

"xecution has an atmospheric sense of place"

Bruno must go undercover — posing as a Jesuit priest and a Spanish emissary — to infiltrate the cabal of Catholic plotters, led by the sinister John Ballard. He must also find out who murdered one of Walsingham’s agents, his young ward Clara, who was battered to death after penetrating Ballard’s band of plotters. But who can Bruno trust in this world of agents and double agents? ... The plot twists and turns. Parris is excellent on the perils of being undercover.

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
Nick Rennison
12 Jul 2020

"Parris’s attention to the details of Elizabethan life and her ability to create characters of depth on display "

Spymaster Sir Francis Walsingham summons the Italian Bruno to London to infiltrate the group and thwart their plans. Parris’s attention to the details of Elizabethan life and her ability to create characters of depth are again on display in a gripping narrative.