"The comprehensive guide to book reviews from The Bookseller"

Fear Reviews

Fear by Dirk Kurbjuweit

Fear

Dirk Kurbjuweit

Score pending

2 reviews

Category: Thrillers, Fiction
Imprint: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publication date: 25 Jan 2018
ISBN: 9781409172024

The most original psychological thriller of 2018, for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW and WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN. How do you protect your family when the law's not on your side?

  • The GuardianBook of the Year
4 stars out of 5
Laura Wilson
1 Dec 2018

"plenty of moral ambiguity and some darkly comic moments"

As much an exploration of masculinity as a psychological thriller, Fear by Dirk Kurbjuweit (translated from German by Imogen Taylor, Orion) is the story of middle-class liberal Randolph, whose family is being tormented by a neighbour. With plenty of moral ambiguity and some darkly comic moments, it has its roots in real events – the author and his family suffered similar harassment, though with a different outcome.

Reviews

5 stars out of 5
Declan Burke
3 Feb 2018

"a complex, nuanced and gripping tale of domestic terror."

Beautifully translated by Imogen Taylor, Fear is a complex tale of plausibly conflicting reactions to a prolonged and almost unimaginably stressful living nightmare, a story that invites the reader – a citizen, presumably, as law-abiding as Randolph and Rebecca – to decide for herself how she might behave were she to discover herself in Randolph’s impossible situation. The final twist will likely come as no surprise to fans of the psychological thriller, but otherwise Fear is a complex, nuanced and gripping tale of domestic terror.