9,807 book reviews and counting...

Firewatching Reviews

Firewatching by Russ Thomas

Firewatching

Russ Thomas

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publication date: 20 Feb 2020
ISBN: 9781471180927

For fans of Adrian McKinty, Sharon Bolton, Ian Rankin and Broadchurch, this is the gripping, unmissable first novel in the DS Adam Tyler series.

3 stars out of 5
Mark Sanderson
21 Mar 2020

"begins promisingly in Barbara Vine territory"

Firewatching begins promisingly in Barbara Vine territory — the relationship between two elderly spinsters is the most impressive part of this wayward debut — but thereafter it lurches into Hammer horror. Still, it will be interesting to see, as the series develops, if Tyler always gets his man.

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
Alison Flood
24 Feb 2020

"An intriguing start to a new series"

DS Adam Tyler makes his debut in Russ Thomas’s debut novel. Sidelined to the cold case review unit in Sheffield, Tyler manages to finagle his way on to a current case when a corpse is discovered bricked into a room – “probably alive when he went in” – in a house that has been destroyed by fire. As Tyler investigates, dealing with latent and not-so-latent homophobia among his colleagues, more fires start springing up, and the cold case suddenly isn’t quite so cold any more. An intriguing start to a new series, introducing a pleasingly misanthropic new hero with the requisite traumatic past.