12,557 book reviews and counting...

Leave the World Behind Reviews

Leave the World Behind by Rumaan Alam

Leave the World Behind

Rumaan Alam

4.22 out of 5

7 reviews

Imprint: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication date: 12 Nov 2020
ISBN: 9781526633088

An impossibly compelling literary thriller about the world we live in now, Rumaan Alam's novel is keenly attuned to the complexities of parenthood, race and class. Leave the World Behind explores how our closest bonds are reshaped in moments of crisis - and how the most terrifying situations are never far from reality. _

3 stars out of 5
Sarah Gilmartin
21 Nov 2020

"Timely novel about a sudden, cataclysmic event that shocks the world"

Even with the cataclysmic events, the writing has a darkly comic undertone that recalls Jenny Offill and, particularly, Taffy Brodesser-Akner. Alam’s depiction of a New York family and its milieu echoes the latter’s Fleishman Is in Trouble, and his insights into character motivation ring true no matter which voice his omniscient narrator taps into. Here’s Amanda on her latent sexual desire, awakened by being on holiday:

“There was some stirring, watching his hands at work, but vacations did that, didn’t they, made you horny, made everything seem possible, a life completely different than the one you normally inhabited.”

Reviews

5 stars out of 5
Lucy Scholes
21 Nov 2020

"a comedy of manners turns apocalyptic"

Without any exaggeration, I can honestly say that I devoured Rumaan Alam’s new novel, Leave the World Behind, in one greedy, uneasy gulp. It’s a taut page-turner – one that starts out as a smart, knowing, contemporary comedy of manners, but quickly spirals into an apocalyptic nightmare so terrifyingly realistic that it sent shivers down my spine. I rarely react so viscerally to the books I read, but this novel left me feeling more agitated, unsettled and generally unnerved than anything else I can remember in recent months, which – given the state of the world – is saying something.

 

4 stars out of 5
15 Nov 2020

"A dazzling tale of catastrophe that follows in the footsteps of Don DeLillo"

In his dazzling prose, his fascination with catastrophe and his apparent ability to portend the future, Alam is a worthy descendant of Don DeLillo, whose new novel, The Silence, also imagines the results of our indispensable communications network going down. But this book is most reminiscent of DeLillo’s great early work White Noise (1985). It explores the way American abundance is really an attempt to shield against disaster, and warns that our comfort is precarious, even when it seems least so. It, too, is a novel about fear.

 

5 stars out of 5
Alex Preston
9 Nov 2020

"eave the World Behind is an extraordinary book, at once smart, gripping and hallucinatory."

Leave the World Behind was written before the coronavirus crisis and yet it taps brilliantly into the feeling of generalised panic that has attached itself to the virus and seems to mingle fears about the climate, inequality, racism and our over-reliance on technology... Leave the World Behind is an extraordinary book, at once smart, gripping and hallucinatory. It’s no surprise that Netflix is working on an adaptation starring Denzel Washington and Julia Roberts. When future generations (if that term doesn’t sound over-optimistic at the moment) want to know what it was like to live through the nightmare of 2020, this is the novel they’ll reach for.

4 stars out of 5
Martin Chilton
8 Nov 2020

"Alam has written a genuine literary thriller"

The pacing of the second half of Leave the World Behind is sharp: it is gripping to witness the rising panic of the characters as they face up to their worst fears (and you will certainly wince at what happens to Archie). Alam has written a genuine literary thriller, one that is also a disturbing window into our precarious age. It’s no surprise that the novel has already been snapped up by Netflix for a film to star Julia Roberts and Denzel Washington.

4 stars out of 5
6 Nov 2020

"There’s something for everyone: that is, to terrify everyone, from parents to nature lovers to hypochondriacs."

But unlike many — say, Cormac McCarthy’s The Road — it gives us not the aftermath, but the first steps. It’s a close-up narrative, and its strength lies in the emotional pull rather than thematic concerns of race and inequality. At first the characters try to carry on as normal — movie, hot tub, married sex — and the story’s blend of daily life and the end of days is reminiscent of Nevil Shute’s On the Beach, where the stiff-lipped characters joked about their preferred flavour of cyanide pill as they waited for the radiation to reach Melbourne.

Soon a satisfying, to the reader, panic takes hold. There’s something for everyone: that is, to terrify everyone, from parents to nature lovers to hypochondriacs. One nice foreboding touch is when we see flamingos and deer migrating en masse: the animals know something we don’t.

4 stars out of 5
Emma Jacobs
6 Nov 2020

"a thrilling dissection of modern America"

The book is billed as a literary thriller, and has already been snapped up by Netflix to be adapted into a film starring Julia Roberts and Denzel Washington. By following the unfolding disaster from the perspective of each character, we become less suspicious of their motives, and some of the suspense is lost. Yet the novel excels in its dissection of modern liberal America and forces the reader to confront the limits of their own heroism in the face of disaster.