14,765 book reviews and counting...

Books in the Media Update

This website is no longer being updated; theBookseller.com is the home of all books related-content and will continue to be updated with regular articles about books featured in the media. Thank you for using this website, and we hope you join us on theBookseller.com.

Operation Certain Death Reviews

Operation Certain Death by Kim Hughes

Operation Certain Death: A Dom Riley Thriller

Kim Hughes

Score pending

1 review

Category: Adventure, Fiction
Imprint: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publication date: 7 Jan 2021
ISBN: 9781471183591

Perfect for fans of Ollie Ollerton, James Deegan, Andy McNab and Mark 'Billy' Billingham, this is the first breathless, edge-of-your-seat thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author and bomb disposal expert, Kim Hughes GC.

4 stars out of 5
20 Jan 2021

"Light the blue touch paper and retire to a comfortable chair."

“Victoria Cross” has been used as a writer’s pseudonym before, but has there ever been a thriller by a winner of one of the two highest awards for courage? There certainly can’t have been a better first one — duff title aside — than this terrific start to a new series by Kim Hughes, who won the George Cross for bomb disposal in Afghanistan.... It remains to be seen how versatile a hero can be who specialises in bomb disposal but the writing here thoughtfully fuses Hughes’s real-world expertise with the heightened scenarios of adventure stories. Light the blue touch paper and retire to a comfortable chair.

Reviews