14,635 book reviews and counting...

Operation Certain Death Reviews

Operation Certain Death by Kim Hughes

Operation Certain Death: A Dom Riley Thriller

Kim Hughes

Score pending

1 review

Category: Adventure, Fiction
Imprint: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publication date: 7 Jan 2021
ISBN: 9781471183591

Perfect for fans of Ollie Ollerton, James Deegan, Andy McNab and Mark 'Billy' Billingham, this is the first breathless, edge-of-your-seat thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author and bomb disposal expert, Kim Hughes GC.

4 stars out of 5
20 Jan 2021

"Light the blue touch paper and retire to a comfortable chair."

“Victoria Cross” has been used as a writer’s pseudonym before, but has there ever been a thriller by a winner of one of the two highest awards for courage? There certainly can’t have been a better first one — duff title aside — than this terrific start to a new series by Kim Hughes, who won the George Cross for bomb disposal in Afghanistan.... It remains to be seen how versatile a hero can be who specialises in bomb disposal but the writing here thoughtfully fuses Hughes’s real-world expertise with the heightened scenarios of adventure stories. Light the blue touch paper and retire to a comfortable chair.

Reviews