13,111 book reviews and counting...

People Like Her Reviews

People Like Her by Ellery Lloyd

People Like Her

Ellery Lloyd

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: Mantle
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication date: 21 Jan 2021
ISBN: 9781529039382

For fans of Liane Moriarty and Lucy Foley, People Like Her is an exciting debut about truth and lies in the Instagram age.

5 stars out of 5
Nina Pottell
1 Jan 2021

"their different voices add to the atmosphere"

We've all seen them on Instagram, those women who appear to have everything. With a successful online platform and seemingly perfect family, Emmy Jackson is one of them. But there is a darker side lurking. Ellery Lloyd is a husband-and-wife team, who write, and their different voices add to the atmosphere. 

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
Alice O'Keeffe
2 Oct 2020

"A cleverly plotted thriller... very highly recommended"

A cleverly plotted thriller told from three viewpoints: an Instagram "mumfluencer" known as Mamabare; her novelist husband Dan, who hasn't written a book in years; and an anonymous "follower" of Mamabare who bears a terrible grudge against her. A good thriller is joy enough but People Like Her is also a razor-sharp look at Instagram culture, the Faustian pact made by influencers who share every detail of their lives, and what it might mean when the world knows so much about your children. Very highly recommended.