14,765 book reviews and counting...

Books in the Media Update

This website is no longer being updated; theBookseller.com is the home of all books related-content and will continue to be updated with regular articles about books featured in the media. Thank you for using this website, and we hope you join us on theBookseller.com.

Scrublands Reviews

Scrublands by Chris Hammer

Scrublands

Chris Hammer

4.57 out of 5

3 reviews

Imprint: Wildfire
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Publication date: 8 Jan 2019
ISBN: 9781472255129

The searing, hugely-acclaimed Australian debut crime bestseller, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper

  • The Sunday TimesMust Read
5 stars out of 5
Joan Smith
6 Jan 2019

"Scrublands is that rare combination, a page-turner that stays long in the memory."

In 2017, Jane Harper’s fine first novel, The Dry, focused attention on Australia’s drought-ravaged small towns. The Australian journalist Chris Hammer now uses a similar setting for his debut, a stunning novel set in a town struggling to survive after another inexplicable tragedy. Scrublands has a journalist arriving in Riversend to write an article on the first anniversary of a mass shooting carried out by the local priest...When Scarsden uncovers a long-ago rape and the unsolved disappearance of two backpackers, the novel turns into an epic account of the psychological damage accumulated over many years in a dying agricultural town. Scrublands is that rare combination, a page-turner that stays long in the memory.

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
Laura Wilson
21 Feb 2019

"an epic and immersive read"

This sharply observed slice of outback noir makes good use of its closed-world setting: a sun-baked, drought-ravaged town whose remaining inhabitants live with the ever-present threat of an all-consuming bushfire... The clunkier elements – Scarsden’s emotional baggage, and his on-off romance with a much younger woman – are more than compensated for by well-rounded characters, masterful plotting and real breadth; this is an epic and immersive read.

4 stars out of 5
1 Feb 2019

"tension as well as genuine feeling"

While there is never any doubt about whether a superhero like Reacher can prevail, there is a real question over Martin’s powers, and the blockades put in his way by the bad guys – and by his own employers – are convincing enough to allow Hammer to create tension as well as genuine feeling. This is his first crime novel and I look forward to its sequels.