14,424 book reviews and counting...

Surrogate Reviews

Surrogate by Susan Spindler

Surrogate: 'An up-all-night compulsive read' Kate Hamer

Susan Spindler

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: Virago Press Ltd
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication date: 1 Apr 2021
ISBN: 9780349013770

For fans of Lullaby and Apple Tree Yard, a gripping debut novel of relationships, mothers and secrets...

5 stars out of 5
Nina Pottell
26 Mar 2021

"A well researched and compelling read"

A fantastic book club choice, this will spark debate and discussions aplenty. After multiple rounds of failed IVF, Lauren and her husband feel completely deflated, so when Lauren's 54-year-old mother, Ruth, offers to be a surrogate, it seems pefect. A well researched and compelling read. 

Reviews

3 stars out of 5
Hephzibah Anderson
23 Mar 2021

"full of drama but weighed down by its desire to educate"

Surrogacy stirs up a complex swirl of ethics and emotions, easily lending itself to sensationalism. It’s a trap that Spindler’s intimate, equitable debut novel dodges, even as the ramifications of Ruth’s decision predictably blow the happy Furnival family apart. Instead, this is a book that’s overly burdened by its mission to educate, meaning that, despite deft structuring, the early chapters tend to get bogged down in meticulous probing of moral and biological boundaries, often via some pretty clunky dialogue. As the plot quickens, however, the prose improves; when it comes to describing a crisis, of which there are plenty, it soars.