14,765 book reviews and counting...

Books in the Media Update

This website is no longer being updated; theBookseller.com is the home of all books related-content and will continue to be updated with regular articles about books featured in the media. Thank you for using this website, and we hope you join us on theBookseller.com.

Talk to Me Reviews

Talk to Me by Dean Nelson

Talk to Me: How to Ask Better Questions, Get Better Answers, and Interview Anyone Like a Pro

Dean Nelson

Score pending

1 review

Category: Non-fiction
Imprint: HarperPerennial
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Publication date: 4 Apr 2019
ISBN: 9780062825209

From respected journalist, professor, and founder of the Writer's Symposium by the Sea, a book that demystifies the art and science of interviewing, in the vein of On Writing Well or How to Read Literature Like a Professor.

3 stars out of 5
Melissa Katsoulis
22 May 2021

"This steadily prolific writer and teacher is like the grandfather clock in the hall: the idea of it stopping is horrible, even if it’s not as useful as it once was."

We’ve heard this story before. Compared with Boyle’s big hitters such as The Road to Wellville and The Tortilla Curtain, his new novel is rather a slow, colourless read. Guy and Aimee’s relationship is barely sketched in and no one has much of a backstory. In fact, this book pales into forgettability compared with the blog Boyle has been publishing on his website throughout lockdown from his home in California, which has been the most funny, kind, entertaining and truthful Covid companion out there.

Still, it’s comforting in itself to find that this literary old-timer is still rocking, still rolling down the road. This steadily prolific writer and teacher is like the grandfather clock in the hall: the idea of it stopping is horrible, even if it’s not as useful as it once was.

Reviews