7,772 book reviews and counting...

The Bad Fire Reviews

The Bad Fire by Quintin Jardine

The Bad Fire (Bob Skinner series, Book 31): A shocking murder case brings danger too close to home for ex-cop Bob Skinner in this gripping Scottish crime thriller

Quintin Jardine

Score pending

1 review

Imprint: Headline Book Publishing
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Publication date: 14 Nov 2019
ISBN: 9781472255792

The gripping new mystery in the bestselling Bob Skinner series by Quintin Jardine - perfect for readers of Ian Rankin and Ann Cleeves. 'If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery' Glasgow Herald

3 stars out of 5
28 Nov 2019

" the attempts to modernise the series with subtle nods to modern popular culture are intriguing"

After meeting David, Alex feels that there are grounds to at least explore the possibility of foul play. Conscious that her father cannot be caught up in a police corruption investigation, she solicits the help of a female investigator, Carrie McDaniel. However, once the investigation gets under way, things begin to turn sinister and it seems Alex’s life could be in danger, at which point Skinner can no longer sit idly by.
For all the intricacies of the plot, The Bad Fire still feels like crime-by-numbers at times: certain female characters can seem unrealistic, and after a while the repeated references to Bob Skinner’s hard man persona begin to grate. Still, the attempts to modernise the series with subtle nods to modern popular culture are intriguing.

Reviews