14,765 book reviews and counting...

Books in the Media Update

This website is no longer being updated; theBookseller.com is the home of all books related-content and will continue to be updated with regular articles about books featured in the media. Thank you for using this website, and we hope you join us on theBookseller.com.

The Black Flamingo Reviews

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta

The Black Flamingo

Dean Atta

Score pending

2 reviews

Category: Children's
Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
Publication date: 6 Aug 2019
ISBN: 9781444948585

Fiercely told, this is a powerful coming-of-age story told in verse, from one of the UK's leading poets, Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan and Poet X.

4 stars out of 5

"Celebratory and passionate, Atta’s bold verse novel calls to its readers to find their own blazing, performative inner truth"

Michael is Jamaican-Greek Cypriot and gay. Throughout his teens and first year at university, he gradually comes to terms with his identity, finding the place where he feels he belongs – the university drag society, where the Black Flamingo, Michael’s proud apotheosis, is born. Celebratory and passionate, Atta’s bold verse novel calls to its readers to find their own blazing, performative inner truth.

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
Suzi Feay
23 Aug 2019

"beautifully produced"

The Black Flamingo is written not so much in verse, as in brief, end-stopped lines. Michael’s own poetic attempts punctuate the short chapters, and the whole is illustrated by Anshika Khullar. The short lines give Michael’s story an epigrammatic quality and an urgent pace that is deeply involving. A compact hardback edition, it has been beautifully produced by Hodder.