9,147 book reviews and counting...

The Liar Reviews

The Liar by Steve Cavanagh

The Liar

Eddie Flynn Book 3

Steve Cavanagh

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publication date: 14 Nov 2017
ISBN: 9781409152392

A must-read for fans of Lee Child, John Grisham and Michael Connelly. Combining gripping action and ingenious plotting, THE LIAR is the brilliant new legal thriller from the author of THE DEFENCE and THE PLEA.

2 Prizes for The Liar

The Crime Writing Association Daggers
2018 Gold Dagger Winner

A perfectly balanced combination of courtroom drama and fast-paced action. Add to the mix strong characterisation and superb plotting for a twisty and absorbing read in which nothing is resolved until the very last page.

The Crime Writing Association Daggers
2018 Gold Dagger Shortlist

A perfectly balanced combination of courtroom drama and fast-paced action. Add to the mix strong characterisation and superb plotting for a twisty and absorbing read in which nothing is resolved until the very last page.

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
Barry Forshaw
2 Jun 2018

"Fasten your seatbelts: any time spent in the company of Steve Cavanagh’s tough-guy lawyer, Eddie Flynn, will guarantee a bumpy ride. The Liar is no exception..."

Fasten your seatbelts: any time spent in the company of Steve Cavanagh’s tough-guy lawyer, Eddie Flynn, will guarantee a bumpy ride. The Liar is no exception... Ian Fleming led a vicarious fantasy life through 007; is the unlikely superlawyer, as adept at physical violence as he is in the courtroom, a similar alter ego for Cavanagh, whose day job is practising civil rights law?

5 stars out of 5
16 May 2018

"thoroughly enjoyable page turner with lots of shocks, twists and turns"

If The Liar was a stick of rock it would have the word ‘thriller’ all the way through it because that’s what this novel is – a high octane story that gets into a high gear from page one and stays there right through to the last. In the first quarter this feels very much like a Lee Child novel via the pacing and characterisation. However, by the time we reach the court case in the second half it becomes more like a John Grisham novel, back when Grisham was at the top of his game. Steve Cavanagh is a practicing lawyer and the depth of his knowledge shines out from the narrative... The writing is short, sharp and punchy, with quick chapters, and anything that gets in the way of the plot has been ruthlessly trimmed. Thoroughly enjoyable page turner with lots of shocks, twists and turns. Well plotted, well constructed, well executed.