7,488 book reviews and counting...

The Long Call Reviews

The Long Call by Ann Cleeves

The Long Call

Ann Cleeves

4.00 out of 5

5 reviews

Imprint: Macmillan
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication date: 5 Sep 2019
ISBN: 9781509889563

Sunday Times bestselling author of the Shetland and Vera Stanhope series, Ann Cleeves returns with the first in a brand new series set in North Devon and featuring Detective Matthew Venn. In this rural idyll, where two rivers meet, crime is always there waiting to rise from the water.

4 stars out of 5
Laura Wilson
18 Oct 2019

"this is a traditional mystery of the best sort"

 he is called to investigate a corpse discovered on a nearby beach. The only pointer to the man’s identity is an envelope that links him to the Woodyard Centre, a local daycare and drop-in space run by Venn’s husband Jonathan. The case gets even more uncomfortably close to home when Venn’s mother calls him about the disappearance of a girl who has a learning disability and also attended the centre. Fans of Jimmy Perez and Vera Stanhope need not worry: this is a traditional mystery of the best sort, with a likable protagonist and a strong female sidekick.

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
Geoffrey Wansell
26 Sep 2019

"[Cleeve] demonstrates her unerring touch for character and her fierce grip of plot. A new detective star is born."

The million-selling Cleeves, who has already given us two unforgettable detectives, Vera Stanhope and Jimmy Perez, now introduces us to Detective Inspector Matthew Venn. He works in Cleeve’s childhood home in North Devon, and is a character for our times — a gay man married to his male partner... The investigation takes Venn back to his roots, and the cultish behaviour of the people he knew growing up. All this is set against Cleeve’s familiar sweeping sense of place and once again she demonstrates her unerring touch for character and her fierce grip of plot. A new detective star is born.

4 stars out of 5
Barry Forshaw
20 Sep 2019

"Splendid stuff, with Cleeves’ characteristic gift for locale (here north Devon)."

The Long Call... by Ann Cleeves finds the creator of the novels behind TV adaptations Shetland and Vera coming up with yet another memorable protagonist. Detective Matthew Venn has rejected his strict Evangelical community but finds himself drawn back into this cloistered world for a murder investigation. Splendid stuff, with Cleeves’ characteristic gift for locale (here north Devon).

4 stars out of 5
Marilyn Stasio
30 Aug 2019

"(an) atmospheric procedural... Cleeves’s true strength lies in her descriptions of the natural world"

A prolific author with two sturdy mystery series already underway, Cleeves has a fondness for quirky characters, several of whom show up here when Venn starts interviewing suspects. But Cleeves’s true strength lies in her descriptions of the natural world, gorgeously captured in this brief description of Venn listening to “the surf on the beach and the cry of a herring gull, the sound naturalists named the long call, the cry which always sounded to him like an inarticulate howl of pain.”

4 stars out of 5
23 Aug 2019

"a promising beginning to another fine chapter in the Ann Cleeves story"

I like Venn. He is diffident and clever, prone to melancholia (he has sad eyes), self-doubt and anger, and is scarred by the rigid religious beliefs of his estranged family. He isn’t welcome at his father’s funeral, but he is happily married to Jonathan, his opposite in so many ways. Cleeves writes about their domestic relationship with affectionate detail and a resounding authenticity, just as she evokes the local landscape as if it were a character in its own right. She likes things on the margins, be they gay detectives or out-of-the way places... The plot moves at a healthy pace, and there is at least one surprise in store. By the end, The Long Call had me hooked — a promising beginning to another fine chapter in the Ann Cleeves story.