13,736 book reviews and counting...

The Mirror Dance Reviews

The Mirror Dance by Catriona McPherson

The Mirror Dance

Catriona McPherson

Score pending

1 review

Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Publication date: 21 Jan 2021
ISBN: 9781529337921

A delightful Dandy Gilver mystery by Catriona McPherson, set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.

4 stars out of 5
24 Jan 2021

"McPherson is clearly a stickler for research"

There is a lot to recommend Catriona McPherson’s stylish detective series featuring Dandy Gilver, the wealthy wife of a Scottish landowner who runs private investigations in the interwar years. The historical detail is pin sharp and, as in true murder cases, it is the mundanities of everyday life which investigations throw up which evoke the age, rather than any evolution in the criminal dispatching of one’s fellow humans.

Reviews