14,635 book reviews and counting...

The Old Enemy Reviews

The Old Enemy by Henry Porter

The Old Enemy

Henry Porter

Score pending

2 reviews

Category: Thrillers, Fiction
Imprint: Quercus Publishing
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Publication date: 15 Apr 2021
ISBN: 9781529403305

Heart-stopping international spy thriller from 'An espionage master' (Charles Cumming) starring ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson for fans of Mick Herron, Lee Child and John le Carre

  • The Sunday TimesThriller of the Month
5 stars out of 5
11 Apr 2021

"an impressive achievement"

This novel is at once an up-to-the-minute political novel about an emergent second Cold War, a timeless ripping espionage yarn and a continuation of the lives of characters who become richer with each appearance. It’s an impressive achievement and, as ever with Porter, told in an addictive blend of tangy dialogue and polished prose.

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
13 Apr 2021

"The Old Enemy has an old-style, mid-Atlantic feel to it but it is no less gripping for that"

Ex-spook Paul Sansom is targeted by hoods in London and a retired British spy is murdered on an Estonian beach. Sansom’s trail leads to an elusive adversary from the past. Those not familiar with the previous books in this trilogy (Firefly and White Hot Silence) may take time to get up to speed with Porter’s large cast of characters. Sansom’s ability to evade countless assassins also asks favours of the reader but Porter skilfully tugs the taut threads of his global conspiracy towards a stirring climax in Congress.