10,869 book reviews and counting...

The Puritan Princess Reviews

The Puritan Princess by Miranda Malins

The Puritan Princess

Miranda Malins

Score pending

1 review

Imprint: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publication date: 19 Mar 2020
ISBN: 9781409194798

Power, politics and a devastating fight for the crown in this gripping historical novel following the rise of Oliver Cromwell's youngest daughter. Perfect for fans of Anne O'Brien, Joanna Hickson and Alison Weir.

4 stars out of 5
Antonia Senior
7 Apr 2020

"there is much to enjoy in this evocation of a family whose lives are so upended by the convulsions of history"

Frances and her elder sister are in a position familiar to royal women throughout history — they are political pawns with a womb, particularly when the talk is of making her father a new king. Frances bridles against the role she is being forced into. The English Civil Wars did shake up assumptions about women’s roles in society, but Frances in this telling is a little too modern in her outlook; at one point she uses the word “empowered” to describe herself. 

Reviews