9,147 book reviews and counting...

The Red Daughter Reviews

The Red Daughter by John Burnham Schwartz

The Red Daughter

John Burnham Schwartz

Score pending

1 review

Imprint: Corsair
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication date: 1 Aug 2019
ISBN: 9781472155085

Running from her father's brutal legacy, Joseph Stalin's daughter defects to the United States during the turbulence of the 1960s. For fans of We Were the Lucky Ones and A Gentleman in Moscow, this sweeping historical novel and unexpected love story is inspired by the remarkable life of Svetlana Alliluyeva.

4 stars out of 5
Nick Rennison
28 Jul 2019

"a memorable portrait of a woman struggling bravely "

The Red Daughter of John Burnham Schwartz’s title is Svetlana Alliluyeva, Stalin’s only daughter, who defected to America in 1967... Schwartz, whose own father was involved in the drama surrounding Svetlana’s defection, has created a memorable portrait of a woman struggling bravely but vainly to escape her past.

Reviews