5,757 book reviews and counting...

The Rosewater Insurrection Reviews

The Rosewater Insurrection by Tade Thompson

The Rosewater Insurrection

Tade Thompson

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: Orbit
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication date: 12 Mar 2019
ISBN: 9780356511375

The second volume in a vibrant and compellingly told trilogy by one of science fiction's most engaging new voices - perfect for fans of N. K. Jemisin's The Fifth Season, Ann Leckie's Ancillary Justice and Jeff Vandermeer's Southern Reach trilogy.

4 stars out of 5
James Lovegrove
15 Mar 2019

"a coruscating, propulsive tale of colonisation."

As before, Thompson adopts a multiple-viewpoint narration that hops back and forth in time. This disorientating, kaleidoscopic approach pays dividends as the plot strands come together in a coruscating, propulsive tale of colonisation.

Reviews

3 stars out of 5
13 Mar 2019

"Like Rosewater, The Rosewater Insurrection is sharp and full of hard edges"

Like RosewaterThe Rosewater Insurrection is sharp and full of hard edges. It is fast and tense and fascinating, and I really want to like it. But I don’t. I admire its craft and its sheer panache, its explosive approach to worldbuilding and its willingness to fuck shit up, but I don’t enjoy it.

That’s about me, not about the novel, though. If this is the kind of science fiction thriller you like, then The Rosewater Insurrection is a good book for you.