14,765 book reviews and counting...

Books in the Media Update

This website is no longer being updated; theBookseller.com is the home of all books related-content and will continue to be updated with regular articles about books featured in the media. Thank you for using this website, and we hope you join us on theBookseller.com.

The Seep Reviews

The Seep by Chana Porter

The Seep

Chana Porter

Score pending

1 review

Imprint: Titan Books Ltd
Publisher: Titan Books Ltd
Publication date: 19 Jan 2021
ISBN: 9781789095173

A blend of searing social commentary and speculative fiction, Chana Porter's fresh, pointed debut is perfect for fans of Jeff VanderMeer and Carmen Maria Machado.

4 stars out of 5
Simon Ings
8 Jan 2021

"scalpel-sharp and oddly moving"

This, you see, is what the Seep is about in this slyest of social satires. The Seep breaks down hierarchies and obliterates norms, makes everything possible, abolishes death and pain, and recasts humanity as an infinitely plastic proposition. “The Seep did love us,” the book’s elusive narrator remarks early on, “and it wanted to help us to create a perfect world. And this destroyed life as we knew it.” Chana Porter’s affectionate takedown of every modish leftist pretension is scalpel-sharp and oddly moving.

Reviews