14,765 book reviews and counting...

Books in the Media Update

This website is no longer being updated; theBookseller.com is the home of all books related-content and will continue to be updated with regular articles about books featured in the media. Thank you for using this website, and we hope you join us on theBookseller.com.

The Smash-Up Reviews

The Smash-Up by Ali Benjamin

The Smash-Up: a deliciously dark satire

Ali Benjamin

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: riverrun
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Publication date: 23 Feb 2021
ISBN: 9781529409314

A family is upended when their small-town life becomes the latest battlefield in the culture wars in this of-the-moment novel for readers of Meg Wolitzer and Fleishman Is in Trouble

4 stars out of 5
18 Feb 2021

"Read More Benjamin is an absolutely brilliant satirist"

This amazing, dramatic, hilarious debut adult novel from a bestselling children’s writer is about modern America, and by extension modern everywhere...

Benjamin is an absolutely brilliant satirist and deftly juxtaposes the battlegrounds of marriage, parenthood and middle-class aspiration with the fight for truth and justice in the bigger political picture.

Reviews

3 stars out of 5
Johanna Thomas-Corr
7 Feb 2021

"For all its abundance of themes and ideas, The Smash-Up feels empty because it lacks characters who are fully human"

The Smash-Up is a talking points novel, by which I mean it strains hard to say everything about American politics, activism, social media, Me Too, marriage, capitalism, domestic terrorism — I could go on. Publishers are comparing it to Taffy Brodesser-Akner’s Fleishman Is in Trouble (2019). Both books place the angst of affluent Gen Xers under the microscope; both conceal a feminist jeremiad within a comic structure; and both take pleasure in taunting a male protagonist. Maddy’s flirting includes sending Ethan smutty gifs, wearing his shorts and calling him Daddy.