The latest book reviews in one place

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie Reviews

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

Alan Bradley

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publication date: 4 Feb 2010
ISBN: 9780752883212

Cosy crime historical mysteries featuring Flavia de Luce - the teenage amateur sleuth you'll never forget. Perfect for fans of Midsomer Murders and Agatha Christie's Miss Marple.

4 stars out of 5
Emma Hagestadt
21 May 2010

" Cosily arcane and modishly fast-paced"

Eleven-year old Flavia de Luce, the heroine of this appealing detective debut (the first in a series), brings a breath of fresh air to the world of period-piece sleuthing.

Brainy, funny and pigtailed, Flavia spends her days concocting poisons to try out on her spiteful elder sisters. Her experiments, however, are unexpectedly postponed by a much more exciting event in her life – the discovery of a corpse in the family cucumber patch.

A post-war English country house murder ensues, with stamp-collecting and ornithology. Cosily arcane and modishly fast-paced...

Reviews

4 stars out of 5
Laura Wilson
31 Jan 2009

"delightfully entertaining"

Set in an English village in 1950, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie reads like a cross between Dodie Smith's I Capture the Castle (posh family fallen on hard times, dead mother, disengaged father, crumbling pile) and the Addams family (Flavia has a well-appointed laboratory where she makes poisons to test on her spiteful elder sisters). A strong plot, involving philately, ornithology and prestidigitation, and a wonderful supporting cast make this Canadian novelist's debut delightfully entertaining.