The latest book reviews in one place

The Twisted Tree Reviews

The Twisted Tree by Rachel Burge

The Twisted Tree

Rachel Burge

Score pending

2 reviews

Category: Children's
Imprint: Hot Key Books
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Publication date: 10 Jan 2019
ISBN: 9781471407765

Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller - this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver. Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material.

  • The Sunday TimesChildren's Book of the Week
5 stars out of 5
Nicolette Jones
6 Jan 2019

"a creepy and evocative fantasy likely to make readers wary of shadows in the corner of an eye"

This is a creepy and evocative fantasy likely to make readers wary of shadows in the corner of an eye, and a love story, with unconventional characters and an unusual sense of place. Its central conceit, that the clothes we wear are infused with our feelings, is well done, especially how diverse materials communicate differently. Chiffon, for instance, reveals our daydreams.

Reviews

3 stars out of 5
Suzi Feay
25 Jan 2019

"supernatural elements are handled superbly"

Here’s a snowy supernatural thriller with roots deep in Nordic myth... The Nordic night descends, while a pair of ravens caw incessantly. (Could they be Huginn and Muninn, companions of the one-eyed god Odin?) The supernatural elements are handled superbly, particularly the fearsome, clawed draugr howling outside. The romance element is a bit sickly, but maybe teenage goths will lap it up.