5,757 book reviews and counting...

We Are the Nerds Reviews

We Are the Nerds by Christine Lagorio-Chafkin

We Are the Nerds

The Birth and Tumultuous Life of REDDIT, the Internet's Culture Laboratory

Christine Lagorio-Chafkin

Score pending

2 reviews

Imprint: Piatkus Books
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication date: 2 Oct 2018
ISBN: 9780349416366

In the tradition of The Everything Store and Googled, award-winning tech journalist Christine Lagorio's We Are the Nerds is the incredible true narrative of the birth, and life, of Reddit.

3 stars out of 5
14 Dec 2018

"Reddit was meant to be a bastion of free speech, but it has become an incubator of bigotry"

Perhaps the most interesting thing about Reddit is how far it and similar sites are from the democratic online utopias envisioned in the Nineties. The internet resembles the work of JG Ballard more than it does Mark Zuckerberg’s “global community”. The challenge for democrats will be to cope with this technological expansion. The aim must be to ensure that the internet is more than just an echo chamber for the worst of humanity, as found in the darkest corners of Reddit.

Reviews

3 stars out of 5
30 Oct 2018

"Where Trolls Reigned Free: A New History of Reddit"

Christine Lagorio-Chafkin, a writer for Inc. magazine, tells the Reddit story in “We Are the Nerds.” The two co-founders, Steve Huffman and Alexis Ohanian, cooperated extensively. I admire them for doing so because despite Lagorio-Chafkin’s best efforts — Ohanian is called “charismatic” or celebrated for his “charisma” on Pages 47, 158, 214, 223 and 330 — they come off as whiny and callow schemers, and not the sharpest of sticks. On the very first page, the two University of Virginia seniors cannot figure out what a “kiosk” is.