10,869 book reviews and counting...

We Swim to the Shark Reviews

We Swim to the Shark by Georgie Codd

We Swim to the Shark

Overcoming fear one fish at a time

Georgie Codd

Score pending

1 review

Imprint: Fleet
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication date: 30 Jan 2020
ISBN: 9780708899175

For readers of The Outrun and The Salt Path a meditation on diving and fear, and what we're all really afraid of

4 stars out of 5
Ysenda Maxtone Graham
16 Apr 2020

"Never one to do things by halves, she sets her heart on swimming in the Indian Ocean with one of the world’s most monstrous fish, the 20-tonne whale shark"

This book is all about Georgie — I’ve never seen so many shoals of first-person pronouns in one place, and by the end I was desperate for Georgie to find her shark, so she (and we) could move on. But it’s also revealing about the nature of all phobias where an irrational fear is transmuted into an irrational obsession with the thing feared. To conquer hers, Georgie begins by doing a scuba-diving course in Thailand. When she first dives in to the Gulf of Thailand, ‘my insides retreat. I prepare for the worst — but nothing happens’. Having trained herself to think about swimming among fish, she feels remarkably untraumatised. Being behind the ‘screen’ of her diving mask is a huge psychological help: it makes her feel she’s watching it all on television. What’s more, the fish take no notice of her.

Reviews