The latest book reviews in one place

Where the Crawdads Sing Reviews

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing

Delia Owens

4.29 out of 5

3 reviews

Imprint: Corsair
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication date: 17 Jan 2019
ISBN: 9781472154644

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder.

4 stars out of 5
Mark Lawson
12 Jan 2019

"compelling character, plotting and landscape description"

...a vivid and original character. At times, her survival in isolation comes close to superheroism, but Owens convincingly depicts the instincts and calculations that get Kya into and out of difficulties... The potential soppiness of a coming-of-age romance is also offset by the possibility that Kya is a murderer, although Owens has studied the big beasts of crime fiction sufficiently to leave room for doubt and surprises... themes will reach a huge audience though the writer’s old-fashioned talents for compelling character, plotting and landscape description.

Reviews

5 stars out of 5
11 Jan 2019

"a rare achievement"

The best parts of the book are those that are largely eventless — whole chapters devoted to the smallest of things — as the ill-fated meeting with Chase draws nearer... For a debut the prose is impressively accomplished, only towards the end tarnished by what feels like an amateurish rush to conclude...  A Hollywood adaptation seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens’s exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievement.

4 stars out of 5
Marilyn Stasio
17 Aug 2018

"a painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature"

The wildlife scientist Delia Owens has found her voice in Where the Crawdads Sing, a painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature. The author, with her husband, Mark, of three books about southern Africa, Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders — and dangers — of her private world.